Generation of a Generation

As I begin to feel that I probably do not belong to my own generation, I feel the need to understand what a generation is. My first thought is that a generation is lifetime of obvious behaviours, the loudest ones. And the behaviours are loud because most people think this is how everyone is behaving ‘these days’. According Merriam-webster

Definition of GENERATION

a : a body of living beings constituting a single step in the line of descent from an ancestor
b : a group of individuals born and living contemporaneously

c : a group of individuals having contemporaneously a status (as that of students in a school) which each one holds only for a limited period.

The fact is that I am finding it too tough to sum every one up in a handful of loud behaviours. Infiltration of technology is there, dependence on internet is there, more shoddy ads are there, sexual instincts and there expression is louder than ever, profiling and packaging people is very much here–the much he earns, the much he fucks and who and the much he parties–to make cool and uncool distinctions, things are mismanaged because system is overburdened due to number of people. But above all, the internet is creating a culture which is neither American nor European nor Asian or japanese or Aboriginal because there are social meeting places where faking is easier than it has ever been.

I am 23 and I belong to this generation according Webster. But, I don’t exist more at these social places, I don’t fake, I despise ads and shoddy technology consumerism… I see no pride in fucking many girls, nor I find money an attribute–it’s a necessity for medical bills. Since I sketch, I understand how much one can associate with a visual, something which more and more digital photographers are discovering by going back to days of Analogue photography… the discipline of it. So, looks like I don’t belong to my own generation. But, does this mean that I am being a contrarian stubborn[leading to awful separatism and regret of having missed chance to fuck young bodies, which presumably I can presently and most of my generation is]. I know that morality is being reprogrammed–no longer you’d see any immorality in a lot of things like lying, cheating and polygamy in years yet to be.

Conclusion is simple: I require to be very very sure of what I want to do and why because there certainly will be a voice inside my head in years to come asking me why I didn’t go by the trend.

Leave a Reply

