… If You Could Die?

If I die tomorrow morning,
Would you cry yourself to sleep?
Or dance the night away?
Would you regret the words not spoken?
Or wish you could say one last foul word?

If I die tomorrow evening,
Would you ask why it was me?
Or praise the Reaper’s swift touch?
Would you think back on the good times we shared?
Or the bad memories you hold with hate?

If I die by another’s hand,
Would you seek revenge?
Or give them your thanks?
Would you weep for days on end?
Or be glad I am gone?

If I die a peaceful death,
Would you still wish me back?
Or wish it was painful?
Would you pray for my soul?
Or hope I went to Hell?

If I die years from now,
Would you be glad you knew the real me?
Or hate me for my mistakes?
Would you remember my kind side?
Or only know my hate?

If I die tomorrow morning,
Would you really even care?

–A Poem by Reem El Kelani (Notes)

4 thoughts on “… If You Could Die?

Leave a Reply

